IMPORTANT NOTICE: For up to date information about the COVID-19 pandemic visit

Entries for Bookmark 2015 Awards now open

 Entries for Bookmark 2015 Awards  now open

Entries to the 2015 IAB South Africa Bookmarks Awards are officially open.  In support of Africa’s digital marketing and media industry, IAB South Africa is opening up the Bookmarks Awards, now in its 7th year, to the continent as a whole – inviting agencies, publishers and students to submit their entries to the industry’s most prestigious awards.  For the first time the Bookmarks Awards ceremony will be preceded by the IAB’s inaugural Digital Summit.  Both events will be held on the 19th of February 2015 at the Turbine Hall in Newtown Precinct, Johannesburg.

As the use of digital technologies continues to expand, so the continent’s industry is maturing, innovating and benchmarking itself against international standards.  The Bookmarks, which is a well-established fixture on the South African advertising and publishing awards calendar, serves to identify and recognise excellence in digital creative work and execution that delivers measurable results.

“The 2015 IAB Digital Summit and Bookmarks Awards are about advancing the pace of digital marketing and recognising excellence, innovation and measurable impact. Digital is at the forefront of Africa’s growth and the Bookmarks will begin this new chapter in Jozi the heart of gold, the pulse of digital and South Africa’s economic hub,’ says Josephine Buys, CEO of IAB South Africa

The first IAB Digital Summit will feature top local and international speakers, as well as interactive breakaway sessions where delegates can engage, network and connect with some of the most inspired and inspiring practitioners in the global digital industry.  This will be followed by the Bookmarks Awards ceremony hosted by celebrated comedienne and talk show host Anne Hirsch.

The IAB Bookmarks awards will be honouring winners in four major categories with 31 sub- categories which have been updated and amended in accordance with the latest industry trends and innovations that have emerged over the past year. In aligning with global standards these new categories recognise that the digital and advertising industry contribute professionalism; solution led development and measurable results.

New category additions include:

Core awards – Native Advertising; New IAB Ad format; Best Publisher trade marketing (campaign); Use of User Generated Content; Data Inspired Creative Mobile; Integrated Mobile campaign and Rich Media Advertising for Mobile Devices

Craft awards – Copywriting; Best News wire and Research and Projects

Individual and team awards – Best Blogger; Best Community Manager/ Social Media Marketer; Best Creative/Designer/Copywriter/Content Writer; Best Digital/ Media Strategist; Best Ad Ops Team and Best Journalist

Special Honours awards – Marketer of the Year (individual)

Award entries are open to anyone in Africa and can be submitted online from the 7th of October to the 21st of November 2014 at After a rigorous judging process by a host of top local and international judges, the short-listed finalists will be announced early in February 2015.

Entry costs for the Core and Special Honours categories are R950 per submission for IAB Members and R1150 for non-members, while the Craft awards are R750 for IAB members and R950 for non-members. Entries to the Individual and team awards are free.


For more information on how to enter, visit


SA Creatives

Don't forget to click on the Find-a-Creative tab and advertise your creative services for FREE. If you'd like to showcase your work or would like to write an article please email info[at] @thesacreatives