The 2015 Annual AdFocus Awards finalists announced


With seven weeks to go until the winners are announced, the Annual AdFocus Awards finalists have been named. The awards – on November 25 at RoomFive in Rivonia – will attract the who’s who of the advertising and communications industry to celebrate the best of the best.

Fourteen awards will be presented:

Agency Awards:

Overall Agency of the Year (from any agency category)

Small Advertising Agency of the Year

Medium Advertising Agency of the Year

Large Advertising Agency of the Year

Media Agency of the Year

Branding and Design Agency of the Year

Digital Agency of the Year

Specialist Agency of the Year

African Agency Network of the Year

Individual Awards

Partnership of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award

Industry Leader of the Year

New Broom Award

Student of the Year

The former Advertising Agency of the Year has been split into three categories: small, medium and large; and the Agencies’ Agency of the Year incorporated into a new award, for overall Agency of the Year. The winner of this award will be decided jointly by the AdFocus jury and by agency votes.  The award may be won by an agency from any SA awards category.

The finalists are:

Small Advertising Agency:

  • FoxP2 Johannesburg
  • House of Brave
  • King James The Second
  • OpenCo

Medium Advertising Agency

  • 34
  • Havas
  • Promise Brand Specialists
  • Shift Joe Public
  • Y&R Cape Town

Large Advertising Agency

  • TBWA
  • Y&R Johannesburg
  • Ogilvy & Mather
  • M&C Saatchi Abel
  • King James Group
  • Joe Public
  • FCB Joburg

Specialist Agency

  • Playmakers
  • Hot Dogz Marketing (HDI Youth Marketeers)
  • Burson Marsteller Holdings
  • Narrative
  • Atmosphere Communication

Digital Agency

  • Hellocomputer
  • Native
  • Gloo@Ogilvy

Branding & Design

  • Black Africa Group
  • Grid WorldWide
  • Interbrand
  • Shift Joe Public
  • Jupiter Drawing Room Cape Town

Media Agency

  • Connect (an M&C Saatchi Company)
  • HAVAS Media South Africa (Pty) Limited
  • Initiative Media South Africa
  • MediaCom South Africa
  • MEC Group
  • Mindshare
  • OMD South Africa
  • The MediaShop
  • Vizeum South Africa

African Agency Network of the Year

  • Burson-Marsteller Africa
  • Dentsu Aegis Network
  • Ogilvy & Mather Africa
  • Publicis Africa Group
  • TBWA

Partnership of the Year

  • FCB SA
  • Hardy Boys
  • HAVAS Worldwide
  • Jupiter Drawing Room (Johannesburg)
  • Mediacom

Student of the Year

  • Sarah Mitchell, Vega Durban
  • Kirsten Bennett, Red & Yellow
  • Megan Brits, Stellenbosch Design Academy

The agency awards were scored on new business, business retention, client relationships, awards, industry recognition and transformation. The judging process, in which jurors score in secret, was audited by Deloitte.

The jury chairman is Festus Masekwameng, managing partner of MKT Media and former chairman of the Loerie Awards.

Other members of the main jury are:

Prof Nicola Kleyn – Dean, Gordon Institute of Business Science

Gary Leih – CEO, OFyt

Denford Magora – CEO, The Jupiter Drawing Room (Zimbabwe) & Partner

Zibusiso Mkhwanazi – CEO, Avatar

Jerry Mpufane – Group MD, M&C Saatchi Abel

Julian Neuberger – CEO, Mediacom SA

Emmet O’Hanlon – CEO, DDB SA

Craig Page-Lee – MD, Posterscope SA

Vanessa Pearson –   ECD, House of Brave

Richard Procter – Joint MD, Vizeum SA

Thulani Sibeko – Managing executive, group marketing, communications and corporate affairs, Nedbank

Patrick Conroy – MD, eNCA

The Media and student awards were judged by member of the main jury as well as specialist jurors.

The editorial theme of this year’s Annual AdFocus publication is the growing importance of integration and collaboration in advertising and communications. There is growing acceptance that agencies do not have all the answers and need to look at outsourcing skills. Internally, many agencies are restructuring to achieve better cross-team collaboration.

Don't forget to click on the Find-a-Creative tab and advertise your creative services for FREE. If you'd like to showcase your work or would like to write an article please email info[at] @thesacreatives

Be first to comment