IMPORTANT NOTICE: For up to date information about the COVID-19 pandemic visit

2016 AdFocus Awards entries open

 2016 AdFocus Awards entries open

Entries for the 2016 AdFocus Awards opened on Friday 3 June 2016. Personal invitations to participate will be sent out in coming days but agencies can also register at  Entries close 12h00, Monday 29 August.

The awards themselves will take place on Wednesday 23 November.

The 2016 AdFocus jury will be chaired by Craig Page-Lee, until recently MD of Posterscope SA and now an independent consultant to the marketing and communications industry. His deputy is Denford Magora, founder of Jericho Advertising in Harare and also now Group CEO of The Jupiter Drawing Room – South East Africa.

Page-Lee  says the AdFocus Awards continue to play an important role in the brand communications industry.  “There is a lot at stake as the awards focus on the all-round performance of agencies,” he says. “We don’t look only at creative achievement and financial growth but also at business and leadership effectiveness, the development of meaningful and lasting client relationships, and making a positive impact on clients’ brands while remaining committed to the growth and development of personnel to ensure fair and equitable representation across the industry.”

To succeed at AdFocus, agencies have to work on these qualities continuously. Page-Lee adds that they must also complete questionnaires comprehensively, and pay attention to detail.

In 2016 there are agency-of-the-year awards for small, medium and large advertising agencies; specialist agency; media agency; digital agency; African network; and overall agency of the year, which can come from any category. There is also a new category, for Public Relations Agency of the Year. It replaces Branding & Design, which moves back into the Specialist category in which it used to compete.

The “promotion” of PR to its own category is inevitable, says Page-Lee. “Reputation impacts directly on the financial performance of any brand, and with the ever-increasing power and influence of social media on the success or demise of a brand, plus the expectation of continuous dialogue between consumers and brand owners, Public Relations and Reputation Management is an important part of any integrated media strategy.”

The AdFocus Awards also honour lifetime achievement, industry leader of the year, partnership of the year, student of the year, and new talent. Agency entries are scored on new business, business retention, client relationships, awards, industry recognition and transformation. Business consultancy Deloitte will once again act as “referee” and audit the judging process.

Besides Page-Lee and Magora, the main 2016 AdFocus jury comprises:

Dale Tomlinson – CEO, The Hardy Boys

Emmet O’Hanlon – CEO, DDB SA

Gary Leih – Founder & CEO, OfYt

Julian Neuburger –  CEO, MediaCom

Luisa Mazinter – Group Chief Innovation Officer, Mortimer Harvey Group

Makhosazana Zwane-Siguqa – Head of Content, Africa, WE Chat

Robyn de Villiers –  Chairman and CEO, Burson-Marsteller Africa

Tara Turkington – CEO, Flow Communication

Vanessa Pearson – Executive Creative Director, House of Brave

Zibusiso Mkhwanazi –  CEO, Avatar

Muzi Kuzwayo – Co-founder, Ignitive

Neo Mashego – Executive Creative Director, I See A Different You

Gau Narayanan – MD, BBDO Johannesburg

There are separate panels for media agency of the year and student of the year.

Further information:

AdFocus project manager:

Danette Breitenbach

Tel: 082 4944174


SA Creatives

Don't forget to click on the Find-a-Creative tab and advertise your creative services for FREE. If you'd like to showcase your work or would like to write an article please email info[at] @thesacreatives